Retracting or removing an assessment

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

You can remove (i.e., delete) both Pending Assessments and Published Assessments. You can also retract a published assessment from student access, and then make it available to students again later.

Retracting a published assessment

  1. Under "Published Assessments", from the drop-down menu for the assessment you want to retract, select Settings.

  2. On the Settings page, click Delivery Dates.

  3. You can either retract your assessment immediately or specify a date and time.

    • To retract the assessment immediately, click Retract Now. This will take you to the Immediate Assessment Retract Confirmation page, where you can click Retract to continue or Cancel to return to the Settings page.

    • To retract the assessment at a specified date and time, click the calendar icon to the right of the "Retract Date" text box. Select a date and time, and then, at the bottom of the screen, click Save Settings.

When you retract an assessment, it remains under "Published Assessments", but moves from the "Active (testing in progress)" section to the "Inactive (no student access)" section.

To return a retracted assessment to active status, follow the above steps, but delete the date and time from the "Retract Date" text box. The assessment will have the same URL as it did before you retracted it.

Removing an assessment

  1. Under "Published Assessments" or "Pending Assessments", from the drop-down menu for the assessment in question, select Remove.

  2. Click Remove again to confirm.