Adding, editing, or deleting an announcement

On this page:


Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

Adding an announcement

To add an announcement:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Announcements.

  2. On the Announcements screen, near the top, click Add.

  3. In the text box next to "Announcement title", type the subject of your announcement.

  4. In the text box under "Body", use the WYSIWYG editor to create and format the body of your announcement.

    Note: Pasting text from Microsoft Word directly into the WYSIWYG editor may result in garbled output, even if the text appears correct in the editor. Instead, to insert formatted text from a Word document, click the Paste from Word icon, and paste using Ctrl-v or Command-v. For details, see Pasting from Microsoft Word.

  5. Under "Access", select how to display your announcement:

    • Only members of this site can see this announcement
    • This announcement is publicly viewable: Visible to members of other sites
    • Display this announcement to selected groups only: Visible only to certain sections or groups. Use the checkboxes to choose which groups or sections can view the announcement.

    Note: If you don't see the Display to selected groups option, no groups or sections are associated with your site; see Managing groups.

  6. Under "Availability", select Show to release your announcement or Hide to hide it, or select Specify Dates, and then select a beginning date and ending date for the file's visibility.

    Note: If you choose to specify dates, any email notifications will be sent out on the specified beginning date.

  7. Under "Attachments", you can attach a file from your local computer or from Resources, or specify the URL for a file on the web. For instructions, see Options for adding attachments.

  8. You can choose to have your announcement emailed to participants in addition to being posted. From the Email Notification drop-down list, select the appropriate option:

    • If you do not want the announcement emailed, choose None - No notification (the default setting).
    • If you want to send it only to those participants who have chosen to receive low-priority mail notifications, choose Low - Only participants who have opted in.
    • If you want all participants to receive it, choose High - All participants.

    Note: Participants can choose whether they want to receive all announcements or only high-priority announcements.

  9. To post your announcement, click Add Announcement. To preview your announcement, click Preview. To cancel, click Cancel.

Editing an announcement

To edit an announcement:

  1. In the menubar of the relevant course or project site, click Announcements.

  2. Under your announcement's subject, click Edit.

    Note: If you don't have sufficient rights to edit a particular announcement, you will not see the option to revise it. Also, you can edit only one announcement at a time.

  3. Make the desired changes to your announcement.

  4. After editing, click Save Changes, Preview, or Cancel.

Deleting an announcement

To delete one or more announcements:

  1. In the menubar of the relevant course or project site, click Announcements.

  2. Under "Remove?", check the box(es) next to the announcement(s) you want to delete.

    Note: If you don't have sufficient rights to delete a particular announcement, you will not see a box next to its title.

  3. Click the Update button.

  4. On the confirmation screen, click Remove or Cancel.