On your preferences page you can control what emails are sent you when various actions occur, as well as manage the Twitter integration for your status updates.
You can also disable the twitter integration by unchecking the checkbox. Your details will be removed automatically.
When you are finished, click Save settings. If you enabled the Twitter integration, your details will be verified with Twitter so you must be connected to the Internet at this point.